My Creative Design Process

I seem to have a routine  for #BEDM. I have a blog post idea and then getting distracted all day by other things.

Today’s topic for the #BEDM challenge was to blog your weekend morning routine. As fun as me describing what shampoo I’m currently using sounds I don’t want to give away the secret to my luscious locks…. I figured I would stick to the routines idea because it’s actually something I love reading about in a creative context.

Heres a little insight into my design process.

  • It starts with inspiration (its spring so I’m  inspired by flowers at the moment)
  • Next I turn to good old pinterest for research on current trends, colour palettes and customer research.
  • During the research phase I draw a lot and explore different mediums and attempt different styles of illustration.
  • I start bringing things together and forming composition ideas. I used to do a lot of photocopying during this stage, but now I do most of my composing  digitally.
  • At this stage I may have a few patterns already, but I carry on drawing anyway.
  • When I’ve got a collection that I’m happy with I create the same pattern in different colours. These are called colour ways.
  • Being happy with everything I’ve created. I then create visualisations, like the one below, to show people what my patterns would look like on real products.
Hayley_Holden_Visualisation

Visalisation of my pattern

 

“Follow”
Follow me on Bloglovin’ ♥

Share with me on Twitter Instagram Facebook

One comment

  1. Pingback: Painterly Postcards- Sketchbook Peek 11 | Hayley Holden

Any thoughts?

