Print & Pattern Guide: Artwork

I’ve put together a print & pattern walk-through mini -series so you can see how I start making a pattern, I’ll show you how I put things into repeat in the next part! If you love this print you can get it on phone cases, cushions, mugs, tote bags and other stuff through my Society6 shop

hayjayoh-A-to-B

From A to B

Inspiration & concept

I was inspired by a butterfly print I ‘d done as part of my Keka range, which has also been my home screen wallpaper for ages. I really like the concept of using butterfly wings and wanted to play around with it some more.

Originally the design had been sparked from randomly deciding to buy and photograph a bunch of butterfly wings and then putting them into a simple repeat. I wanted to develop the photo collage element from these prints and add a bit more sass, texture and photo manipulation.

hayjayoh-butterfly-inspiration

First experiment with butterfly wings and one of my Keka phone cases

Getting Started

I started with my favourite mono print from last month’s print workshop. Did you miss that post? Get the lowdown here. I got a load of butterfly wings and started moving them about the page to form some ideas.

hayjayoh-2014-paper-experiment

Doing it the traditional way first

Scanning made the wings look really weird and grainy so I took some hi-res macro photographs of the collection and started digitally placing and collaging them around my Photoshop canvas on top of the monoprint, which I’d scanned. The next thing I do when I’m creating a pattern is mess about with effects, scales and all sorts of other things I usually ended up with five to ten slightly different images to choose from. It probably took me about 3/4hours to get to my final image, a lot longer than this blog post makes it sound!

hayjayoh-butterfly-development

A few developmental patterns

Sometimes I want to be able to whack out an artwork in an hour, but I’m experimental and I often create ten or so different versions before I even put an artwork into repeat.

Maybe I will do a screencast creating a repeat to show you guys my process? Would that be something you’d be interested in? Let me know in the comments.

“Follow
Follow me on Bloglovin’ ♥

2 comments

  1. Daire

    I love the butterfly phone case, it reminds me of a kaleidoscope I had when I was little!
    I’d be interested in seeing your process, I love this sort of behind-the-scenes stuff!
    Have you considered doing a step-by-step style blog series? I’d love seeing the evolution of your designs! x

    Like

    • hayjayoh

      Thanks Daire, shame they’re from the US. I did order one of my own cushion the other week when they had free shipping :)

      my process is something I want to write about but its so intimidating there are lots of great resources out there already, but I’m gunna give it a shot!

      Like

Any thoughts?

