Pantone Radiant Orchid pattern goodness from Tropical Fushion blog hop

Last week I found out about the “Tropical Fusion” blog hop for Surface Pattern Designers,  It ran over the weekend and I was seriously bummed that I missed out. I am always too late to be part of these things so I’m keeping my eyes peeled in future!

The blog hop was hosted by Mary Tanana (head over to her blog  she has a mighty list of the designers involved in the blog hop.) As the name suggests the theme was Tropical and  colour stories were based on Pantone’s  2014 colour of the year: Radiant Orchid.

I put together a little mood board for Radiant Orchid,  the background is one of my pattern designs which I’ve coloured up in said colour of the year

Image

Images sourced from Pantone & Pinterest: Source//Source//Source
♥Follow me on Pinterest♥

A lot of the bloggers  are new to me so I’ve had lots of fun reading though their blogs this week! below are some of my favourite designs from the blog hop.

fyllayta  -tropical fusion blog hop

I could stare at this for hours. It’s so intricate it reminds me of African tribal batik fabrics – Jaguarana by Tina Olsson/FYLLAYTA.

onneke- tropical fusion blog hop

Pineapples are so playful and cute I totally want a tote with this on –  Onneke van Waardenburg

Surface Hug Tropical fusion 3-02

These floral drawings are so intricate, I need to learn how to draw like that in Illustrator. The depth created by using both Photoshop & Illustrator reminds me of camouflage. Trina has also written a detailed blog post that I enjoyed reading through – Trina Esquivelzeta/Surface Hug

TROPICAL-FUSSION-ORCHID_TROPIKA_NiKAMARTINEZ

Nika’s design feels very current and I could totally see this on the British High Street at the  moment, feels like something you’d see on Mindy Kaling in an episode of  The Mindy Project –  Tropika by Nika Martinez

dark dreams - sherry london -tropical fusion blog hop

Parts of Sherry Londons design look totally hand painted but they are all digital produced.

Congrats to all the designers involved there was such variety to choose from and I noticed a lot of  Keka Designers in the mix.  Go Team KEKA!

What do you think about colour of the year? Will you be influenced to buy anything Purple?  Is it just clever marketing from Pantone?

“Follow

Follow me on Bloglovin’ ♥

5 comments

  1. Tina Olsson

    Thank you sooo much for including my design! I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hop, and you picked some awesome patterns for your “tropical fusion goodness” blog post! Hope you can join next time!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Surface Design Guide Favourites | Hayley Holden

Any thoughts?

