tumbr to tumblr importing to create a master tumblr blog

I’m writing this post because it took me forever to get this right and hopefully someone will stumble across it. What I wanted to do was create a blog with all my various web activity posts from 5 different blogs.

  • design work in progress blog
  • inspiration/ obsessions blog
  • 365sketch blog
  • pattern a day blog
  • this wordpress blog

The oldest of the blogs is 4 years old and in total I have around 340 posts reblogging each post would be ridiculous, they wouldn’t be chronological and I’d have to retag each post.

first I made a WordPress.com blog with the Hatch template, importing from Tumblr was really easy just a case of pressing a button in the tools menu and selecting the blogs. PERFECT. I set up an IFTTT recipe to sync new posts I created, alas the Hatch theme relies heavily on featured images and apparently you have to do this manually so I got these stupid grey squares.

Screen Shot 2013-10-20 at 15.19.47

First attempt

I did  a lot of Googling and eventually found a Blogger to Tumblr website, the interface is really simple and easy to understand. So now all I had to do was sync all my Tumblr posts to WordPress, export the blog, convert the export to Blogger,  Set up a Blogspot blog and use this handy tool.

It worked perfectly, posts are in date order and tags are also added there was a limit on posts per day so I had to upload over a couple of days  it also uploads everything as text posts. Now complete with my archive I set up IFTTT recipe to grab all new posts from each blogs RSS and upload to the master blog.

Screen Shot 2013-10-20 at 13.17.24

IFTT recipes

TL;DR : Tumblr to WordPress > export > convert to Blogspot> upload to Blogspot > use Blogger2Tumblr. Walah 

Follow on BloglovinFollow me on Bloglovin’ ♥

2 comments

  1. valium

    My brother suggested I might like this website.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

    Like

Any thoughts?

